# **ABOUT AUCKLAND TROPHIES**

What they are awarded for, and a brief note about their donors. As at June 2009

## **POINTS TROPHIES at ASA Championships**

#### BRIDSON CUP: Club open events points 5.3.1. for medallist .

Contested for 61 years Won - NSS 15, Wai 14, LME 10, Ros 9, ONE 5, MTW 3, New 2, PAR 2, WAQ 1 Donated in 1946 by Mrs W M Bridson, Life member, Team official, chaperone to 1950 Games team, NSS patron many yrs, taught many to swim

#### AUNTY JOHNSON CUP: Club 16/u age groups points 5.3.1. for medalists Contested for 68 years, twice had joint winners

Won- NSS 17, PAR 14, ONE 9, WAI 8, ROS 6, NEW 5, LME 4, MTW 3, WAQ 2, NEW 1, Eastern Suburbs 1.

Donor – Parnell Club, Mrs Johnson was known as "Aunty" the name given to team chaperones pre 1950

# LOU RICHARDSON CUP; Men's points open events 5.3.1. medalists

Contested for 55 years

Most wins - Michael Davidson 6, Trent Bray 5.

Donor – Waitemata Club. Lou Richardson was a stalwart of the Waitemata club in its hey-day. ASA Selector, Life member, great fund raiser.

**TED HARDING CUP: Women's points open events 5.3.1 medallists** Contested for 44 years Most wins – Monique Rodahl 5, Beth Williams 4 Donor: Onehunga Club. Ted Harding was ASA and NZ Life Member, NZ selector, ASA Chairman, handicapper, official

**PREMIER CLUB RELAY BANNER Club points 5.3.1 at Relay championships** Contested 47 years joint winners one year Won – NSS 23, PAR 12, LME 6, ROS 3, ONE 2, MTW 2.

Donor - Rex Moore. NZ and ASA life member, NZ selector and President, Chairman of 1950 Games organizing committee. Original embroidered banner was lost when Newmarket Pool was covered









HALLYBURTON JOHNSON SHIELD Overall club points opens, age groups, juniors, relays, open water championships – visitors included. Points: open events 18, 16, 15, 14, 13,12,11,10 for finalists Age group events 9, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 for finalists
Contested for 61 years, conditions have varied.
Won – NSS 18, WAI 11, ROS 11, PAR 6, LME 5, ES 3, MTW 3,

NEW 2, LME 1, OTU 1.

**NEW CALEDONIAN TROPHY: Best performance by visitor, selectors to name** Contested 23 years Most wins: Alison Fitch 3, Kane Radford 2. Donor: New Caledonian Swimming Association.

#### CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS TROPHY – Top performance at Championships Based on world rankings or similar.

Contested 23 years

Most wins – Trent Bray 4, Dean Kent 3, N. Sanders 2, C. Gibson 2, E. Coster 2. Donor: Norma Williams ASA and NZ life member, NZ selector, chaperone 1968 Olympic Games, life member NSS and ONE clubs

 DALTON TROPHIES for versatility and excellence age group events 15/ under "Finalists " for the trophy for each grade, most medallist points (versatility) Winners are those closest to an ASA records for their grade.(excellence)
 Contested 39 years
 Most wins BOYS: Nicholas Sanders 5, Joshua Agnew 4

GIRLS Caroline Baddock 3, Danielle Koni 3 Donor: Bill Dalton ASA Patron 10yrs, President 16yrs, ASA Life Member Chairman of Eastern Suburbs Club.

VICE –PRESIDENTS TROPHY; girls 100, 200, 400m free – 12y, 13y, 14y 15yrs Points 12; 10; 8; 6; 4; 2 finalists. If tied – closest to equivalent NZ record Contested 24 years
Most wins – Carmen Ooi 3, A Pinny 2, V Wells 2, C Collard 2, E Hotchin 2.
Donor- Dan Bennett ASA vice president for three years, also a coach.













BATTY CUP Dual relay. Finalists in m/ w 50m freestyle draw for partners. Old dual relay trophy re-introduced in 1986 Visitors included.

SHANAHAN PLAQUES - Ten ASA open titles. Can be claimed only once **Originally called Auckland Plaques – name changed 2005** to honour Mick Shamahan - ASA Life Member, and Patron. First awarded 1976.

Winners to 2008 - 26 swimmers (Noted- must be titleholder, not  $2^{nd}$  to a visitor)

# TED HARDING SWIMMER OF THE YEAR TROPHY.

Re Ted Harding – refer Ted Harding Cup above. Contested since 1976 Most wins - Dean Kent 4, Moss Burmester 3, Trent Bray 3, John Steel 3, Anthony Mosse 3

EVA TILSLEY TROPHY - from 1999 best 18yrs and under swimmer Contested since 1988 Most wins - Trent Bray 4, John Munro 2, Melissa Ingram 2, Corney Swanepoel 2, Lauren Boyle 2, Donor: Eva Tilsley ASA Life Member, popular team official 20 years 1940 -1960

# **TITLEHOLDERS' TROPHIES**

PARNELL JUBILEE CUP - Men's 100m freestyle Contested since 1966 – Parnell Club's 50th year anniverary Most Wins - Trent Bray 8, Glen Smith 6.

**NEWMARKET CUP women's 100m freestyle** Contested since 1969 Most Wins - Alison Fitch 6, Monique Rodahl 5













**PRESIDENT'S CUP** - youngest grade girl's 100m freestyle Contested since 1969 Most wins - Bronwyn Smith 2, Amanda McLean 2, Loran Catley 2

AUCKLAND CENTENNIAL CUP (1) - Men's 100m backstroke Contested since 1972 Most wins - Neville Wiig 4, Scott Talbot Cameron 3, Kirk Torrance 3,

**PONDER SHIELD – women's 100m backstroke** In memory of young swimmer Jean Ponder who died at the Parnell Baths Contested since 1957 Most wins -Margaret Macrae 7, Hannah McLean 7, Monique Rodahl 5.

MERV RAYMOND MEMORIAL TROPHY - men's 200m backstroke Contested since 1999 Presented by Raymond family - Merv was ASA Life Member. Most wins – Cameron Gibson 3.

AUCKLAND CENTENNIAL CUP (2) Women's 100m breaststroke Contested since 1972 Most wins - Sarah Mahon 6, Monique Rodahl 3, Danielle Bates 3, Emma Blake 3.

BRIAN PIKE MEMORIAL CUP - Boy's 15/u backstroke, fastest finalist in Open 200m event. If no 15/u finalists, then fastest 15/u 200m backstroke Contested since 1964

Brian was killed in a quarry rock fall shortly after winning NZ junior championship Most wins - Peter Ayson 3, Dean Coote 3,













LOCKHART CUP - fastest 100m breaststroke – Boy's 15/under grades. Contested since 1992 Most wins – Steven Ferguson 3, Amini Fonua 2, Donor : Lockhart family. Richard was an Olympian

## **MT EDEN CUP – men's 200m breaststroke** Contested since 1983 Most wins – Dean Kent 9

**MORRIS CUP – women's 200m breaststroke** Contested since 1982 Most wins – Sarah Mahon 6, Danielle Bates 3, Belinda Harper 3, Emma Blake 3, Donor: Morris Family – Sarah was a promising breaststroker, but shifted to Australia

# LAWRIE REED MEMORIAL TROPHY – girl's 13-14yrs 200 m breaststroke Fastest time if swum in single age grades.

Contested since 1990 Most wins – Alice Lee 2, Carissa Thompson 2, Chloe Francis 2. Donated anonymously – honours Lawrie Reed - ASA chairman 9 yrs, President 3yrs ASA Life Member, NZ official, died as a result of a car accident

AQUA SHOP CUP – mens 100m butterfly Contested since 2004 Donor Chris Lazaridis – owner of Aqua Shop.

**ROSS ANDERSON MEMORIAL TROPHY** - men's 400m medley Contested since 1998 Wins – Dean Kent 9, the only winner to 2008. Donated to honour Ross Anderson – prominent coach













# WAITAKERE LICENSING TRUST Trophy Best performance at ASA Winter Championships Selection panel – 2 ASA coaches and 1 selector, and 1 visiting coach.

Contested since 1993 Most wins – Melissa Ingram 3.

## **OPEN WATER TROPHIES**

HAROLD PETIT CUP – Most points in open water swims. On handicap – 1<sup>st</sup> - 5pts, 2<sup>nd</sup> – 3 pts, 3<sup>rd</sup> – 2pts, all others who finish 1pt. Fastest time - an extra point. Contested since 1938

Donor – Dr. Harold Pettit who was an open water swimmer himself. And an ASA and NZ Life Member

# D. McL. WALLACE CUP

Winner of the handicap section of ASA 5km Open water championship. Handicapping based on 5km swims or current 1500m time. Contested since 1946

Donor – Newmarket firm – D McL Wallace - Agricultural Engineering . Most wins - Owen Elwarth 2, Kate Brookes Peterson 2, Jeremy Gray 2,

Trophies not currently contested – to be re-allocated. Bruce Whineray Cup and Arty Shaw Trophy – zone and league championships





